Steampunk Tables

I recently decided to redecorate my bedroom.  We haven’t had bedside tables since we moved into our new place in July.  I had the idea to do something fun with what we had around the house.  My in-laws gave us these tray tables several years ago and we haven’t used them since we moved last year so they were the perfect things to use.  The tables are older and have been well used.  They had a basket weave pattern on top and fake wood grain trim on the edges.

tray table one

I chose to use Steampunk style because I love how the things look from the Victorian Era and it also worked well with my new bedspread.  I’ve been a big fan of costuming in a Steampunk style and I found it fun to bring it into my home.  If you are asking what is Steampunk I’ll provide you with an answer.

Steampunk is a sub-genre of science fiction that typically features steam-powered machinery,[1] especially in a setting inspired by industrialized Western civilization during the 19th century. Therefore, steampunk works are often set in an alternate history of the 19th century’s British Victorian era or American “Wild West”, in a post-apocalyptic future during which steam power has regained mainstream use, or in a fantasy world that similarly employs steam power. Steampunk perhaps most recognizably features anachronistic technologies or retro-futuristic inventions as people in the 19th century might have envisioned them, and is likewise rooted in the era’s perspective on fashion, culture, architectural style, and art. Such technology may include fictional machines like those found in the works of H. G. Wells and Jules Verne, or the modern authors Philip PullmanScott Westerfeld, and China Miéville. Other examples of steampunk contain alternate history-style presentations of such technology as lighter-than-air airshipsanalog computers, or such digital mechanical computers as Charles Babbage and Ada Lovelace‘s Analytical Engine.

Steampunk may also, though not necessarily, incorporate additional elements from the genres of fantasyhorrorhistorical fiction, alternate history, or other branches of speculative fiction, making it often a hybrid genre. The term steampunk’s first known appearance was in 1987, though it now retroactively refers to many works of fiction created even as far back as the 1950s or 1960s.

Steampunk also refers to any of the artistic styles, clothing fashions, or subcultures, that have developed from the aesthetics of steampunk fiction, Victorian-era fiction, and films from the mid-20th century.[2] Various modern utilitarian objects have been modded by individual artisans into a pseudo-Victorian mechanical “steampunk” style, and a number of visual and musical artists have been described as steampunk.

Steampunk. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steampunk

steampunk outfits

These are the Steampunk outfits my husband and I made for DragonCon 2011. We made everything except the leather corset I’m wearing.

First I took the top off of the legs and made sure the surface of the table was clean.  Next I took out some scrapbook paper I bought for this project and decided what pages and images that I wanted to use.  I did a trial fitting of all of my papers before starting the Mod Podge and cut the papers to fit the way I wanted.  After deciding where the papers were going, I brushed a layer of Mod Podge on the base of the table.  I then placed my first piece of scrapbook paper on the table and brushed the top of the paper with Mod Podge.  I repeated that step with each piece of paper and then put it aside to dry.  After it dried completely I brushed another layer of Mod Podge over the whole top of the table.  I covered the table with 4 more layers letting them dry between each new coating of Mod Podge.  After the last layer dried completely, I used hot glue to apply lace to the seams of the paper.

tray table 2 tray table 3

This is how the finished product looks.  I’m really excited about how it turned out and I just love it.  I can’t wait to do my husband’s table now.

 

Leave a Reply

